PBC Announces Fall Team Sportsmanship Awards

PBC Announces Fall Team Sportsmanship Awards

AUGUSTA, GA – The Peach Belt Conference has announced the winners of the fall Team Sportsmanship Awards. Francis Marion and Georgia Southwestern shared the honor for women's soccer while FMU won alone for men's soccer and Flagler received the honor for volleyball.

The program presents an award following each championship season to the team in that sport that best exemplifies the spirit of sportsmanship and generally conducts themselves with a high degree of integrity, character and class. The team award is selected by other teams who compete in that sport. Points are awarded based on how each team finished in the voting and in June, the institution with the highest totals will receive the 'PBC Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award.'

Francis Marion wins their 12thand 13thawards for the school.  The Patriots men's soccer team wins the honor for the fourth time in the 11-year history of the honor while the women's soccer team claims their first.

Georgia Southwestern wins the women's soccer honor for the sixth time overall, their first since 2015. GSW as an institution has won 20 Team Sportsmanship Awards overall.

Flagler wins the volleyball award for the third time, the first since 2013.  Flagler leads the PBC with 28 overall Team Sportsmanship Awards and won the 2017-18 Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award for a league-leading seventh time.

The cross country All-Sportsmanship Team was presented at the PBC Championships in October.  One male and female runner from each school that sponsor the sport was chosen.  You can seen this year's winners here.

A complete list of all winners for the past 10 years can be seen on the PBC Annual Awards page here.



Women's Soccer

Francis Marion
Georgia Southwestern

Men's Soccer

Francis Marion

Women's Cross Country

All-Sportsmanship Team

Men's Cross Country

All-Sportsmanship Team