Columbus State, Georgia Southwestern Claim PBC Soccer Team Sportsmanship Awards

AUGUSTA, GA – The Columbus State University women’s soccer team and Georgia Southwestern State University men’s soccer team were named the recipients of the PBC Team Sportsmanship award on Wednesday by the league office.  The Peach Belt Conference presents one such award for each of its 15 championship sports, the award is voted on by other teams in those sports.

Columbus State wins the women’s soccer honor for the fourth time in six years.  The team had previously been recognized in 2008, 2010 and 2011.  The award is the sixth Team Sportsmanship for the school overall. 

Georgia Southwestern claims the men’s award for the second straight season and the school overall has now won nine team sportsmanship awards since the program’s inception in 2008-09.

The program presents an award following each championship season to the team in that sport that best exemplifies the spirit of sportsmanship and generally conducts themselves with a high degree of integrity, character and class. The team award is selected by other teams who compete in that sport. Points are awarded based on how each team finished in the voting and in June, the institution with the highest totals will receive the 'PBC Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award.'

The league's Senior Woman Administrators will oversee the program.

Click here for a complete list of 2013-14 Sportsmanship Award Winners.