PBC Announces Seeds for Baseball Tournament

PBC Announces Seeds for Baseball Tournament

AUGUSTA, GA – With the final games of the regular season concluded on Sunday, the Peach Belt Conference has released the seeds for the 2019 Tournament.  Tournament play begins this Friday at Drysdale Field on the campus of Flagler College in St. Augustine, Fla. 

The top eight teams in the PBC are being split into two pools.  Pool A will feature the 1, 4, 5 and 8 seeds while Pool B will have the 2, 3, 6 and 7 seeds.  During the tournament, teams will play all other teams in their pool. The top team in each pool will meet for a winner-take-all championship game on Sunday.

All eight teams will play one game on Friday at Drysdale Field.  On Saturday, Pool B will remain at Flagler while Pool A will move to St. John's River State College in Palatka, Fla.  All teams will play two games on Saturday to complete pool play.  Sunday's championship game will be held at Flagler.

North Georgia defeated Columbus State 4-2 on Sunday to capture a share of the PBC regular-season championship and the #1 seed for the tournament.  The Nighthawks ended the year tied with Flagler at 19-11 in conference play, but take the top seed thanks to winning two of three against the Saints during the season.  UNG is the top seed for the third time since 2015.

Flagler earns their first-ever PBC regular-season championship and have their highest seed for the PBC tournament.  The Saints finished the year 28-21 overall.

USC Aiken is the #3 seed after taking two of three games from Young Harris over the weekend, including a 6-4 win on Sunday.

Young Harris is the #4 seed while Georgia College will be #5.

Columbus State and Francis Marion finished the season tied with 15-14 league records.  The two teams split their two regular-season games as the third was rained out.  The PBC tiebreak formula examines each teams' record against the #1 seed and CSU takes #6 over FMU by virtue of beating #1 UNG in two of three games.  UNG defeated FMU in two of three.

Francis Marion takes the #7 seed while Georgia Southwestern is the eighth seed.

The PBC Tournament will begin at 10:00 am on Friday in St. Augustine.  The complete tournament schedule will be released on Monday.

Pool A Pool B
#1 North Georgia #2 Flagler
#4 Young Harris #3 USC Aiken
#5 Georgia College #6 Columbus State
#8 Georgia Southwestern #7 Francis Marion