PBC Releases Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

PBC Releases Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

The Peach Belt Conference has released the 2009-10 men’s basketball All-Conference team at a banquet in Aiken, S.C., on the eve of the PBC Tournament semifinals. Augusta State’s Ben Madgen was named the PBC Player of the Year with teammate Daniel Dixon the first Defensive Player of the Year. UNC Pembroke’s Shahmel Brackett was the PBC Freshman of the Year and ASU coach Dip Metress the PBC Coach of the Year. The 15-member team was selected by the league’s head coaches.

Madgen becomes one of the most decorated men’s basketball players in PBC history with the Player of the Year award. The senior from Williamstown, Australia, became the conference’s all-time leading scorer during the year and is the only men’s player in conference history to score more than 2,000 career points. Madgen also becomes the second player ever to be named All-Conference four times and the third to be named both the PBC Freshman of the Year and the PBC Player of the Year during his career. This season, Madgen led the conference in scoring at 18.4 ppg.

Daniel Dixon becomes the first PBC Defensive Player of the Year as the award was created for the 2009-10 season. A senior from Falls Church, Va., Dixon led the PBC in steals with 2.32 per game and was the catalyst for the top scoring defense in the PBC during the year. ASU as a team also is the national leader in rebounding margin. Dixon, a 1,000-point career scorer, is also ranked fifth in assists in the league.

Shahmel Brackett becomes only the second UNCP Brave and first since 1994 to be named the PBC Freshman of the Year. A true freshman from Florence, S.C., Brackett was ranked 11th in the PBC in scoring and led UNCP with 14.5 points per game. He was also second on the team in assists and third in blocked shots. Brackett started in 24 of 26 games for UNCP and scored a career-high 29 points against Francis Marion on Feb. 3.

Dip Metress takes his second PBC Coach of the Year award in his sixth season as Augusta State’s head coach. After taking the Jaguars to the Elite Eight in both 2008 and 2009, reaching the national semifinals once and the national championship game once, ASU is currently the #1-ranked team in the nation, becoming the first PBC men’s team ever to earn a #1 ranking during the season. 26-2 overall heading into the PBC semifinals, Metress led ASU to their third PBC regular-season championship in the last four years and the #1 seed in the east division.

The 2009-10 All-Conference team is listed below. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2010 Peach Belt Conference
Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team
Fred Brathwaite, Augusta State
Ben Madgen, Augusta State
Freddy Little, Montevallo
Graham Martin, GCSU
Alex Smith, Augusta State

Second Team
Simel Boyd, Francis Marion
Byron Faison, USC Aiken
Michael Moynihan, North Georgia
Robert Murry, Clayton State
Chris Rawls, Georgia Southwestern

Third Team
Daniel Dixon, Augusta State
D.J. Ferguson, Flagler
Ty Rowland, GCSU
Patrick Shokpeka, Armstrong Atlantic State
Chris Telesford, Columbus State

Player of the Year: Ben Madgen, Augusta State
Defensive Player of the Year: Daniel Dixon, Augusta State
Freshman of the Year: Shahmel Brackett, UNC Pembroke
Coach of the Year: Dip Metress, Augusta State