PBC to Send Three Men’s Basketball Teams to NCAA Tournament

PBC to Send Three Men’s Basketball Teams to NCAA Tournament

INDIANAPOLIS, IND – UNC Pembroke, Clayton State and Francis Marion all received bids to play in the NCAA men's basketball national championship on Sunday night.  The announcement was made from the national office in Indianapolis hours following the championship game of the PBC Tournament.  The regional will be hosted by Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tenn., beginning on Saturday, March 10.  Game times will be announced on Tuesday.

UNC Pembroke is the #3 seed after winning their second consecutive PBC Tournament championship on Sunday.  The Braves make their second straight appearance and fifth since 2011.  Now 26-5 overall on the season, the Braves will meet Francis Marion in Friday's opening round.

Clayton State reached the championship game of the PBC Tournament on Sunday and enter the NCAA Tournament with a 23-6 overall record.  The Lakers won their second straight PBC regular-season title in 2017-18 and make their third appearance in the NCAA Tournament, the first since 2008.  The Lakers will take on fifth-seeded Carson-Newman on Saturday.

Francis Marion made a run to the semifinals of the PBC Tournament and return to the NCAAs with a 20-9 overall record.  The Patriots make their second NCAA appearance, returning for the first time since 2004.  FMU will meet rival UNC Pembroke on Saturday.

2018 NCAA Tournament
Southeast Regional

Saturday, March 10
#8 King at #1 Lincoln Memorial
#7 Lees-McRae vs. #2 Queens
#6 Francis Marion vs. #3 UNC Pembroke
#5 Carson-Newman vs. #4 Clayton State