PBC Releases Men’s Golf All-Conference Team

PBC Releases Men’s Golf All-Conference Team

PINE MOUNTAIN, GA – The Peach Belt Conference has released the 2009-10 men’s golf All-Conference team following a banquet in Pine Mountain, Ga., site of the 2010 PBC Championships.  Georgia College & State University’s Francisco Bide was named the PBC Player of the Year while Armstrong Atlantic State’s Jacob Tilton was named the PBC Freshman of the Year.  Flagler coach Santiago Cavanagh was named the Coach of the Year.

A senior from Buenos Aires, Argentina, Bide was one of three GCSU golfers to be ranked 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the PBC in stroke average.  He played in all 10 tournaments for the Bobcats this season with a 72.5 stroke average.  He finished in a tie for first, but lost in a playoff, at the season-opening Kiawah Island Intercollegiate and was tied for third at the Lander Bearcat Classic in late March.  Bide fired a season-low 66 at the Lander Classic, one of two rounds of 66 shot by the team this season.  He becomes the third GCSU player to be named the Player of the Year, the first since David Robinson finished his run of three in a row in 2003.

Tilton becomes the first Pirate to ever be named the PBC Freshman of the Year.  A true freshman from Evans, Ga., he played more rounds than any other freshman in the PBC, starting all 23 for the Pirates.  He was second on the team with a 74.4 stroke average and had six top-20 finishes.  He was seventh at the Jacksonville State/Grub Mart Intercollegiate and ninth at the AASU Pirate Invitational.  He was one of only two freshman to play in all of their teams’ competitive rounds.

Santiago Cavanagh had the unenviable task of bringing a new golf team into an established golf conference.  Flagler joined the PBC starting with the 09-10 year and the Saints made an immediate impact, winning three straight tournaments from Feb. 1 to March 9, the longest winning streak in the PBC this season.  Flagler finished second at their own invitational in the fall but really hit their stride with a win at the first tournament of the spring, the Outback Intercollegiate.  That was followed up with a win at the AASU Pirate and the Barton Intercollegiate.  Flagler is currently ranked #14 in the nation.

The men’s golf All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league’s head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2009-10 Peach Belt Conference
Men’s Golf All-Conference Team

First Team
Francisco Bide, GCSU
Chris Bray, Flagler
Craig Gibson, Georgia Southwestern
Charlie Hoyle, Lander
Niclas Johansson, GCSU
Roberto Nasalli-Rocca, Lander
Jordan Walor, UNC Pembroke
Joe Young, GCSU

Second Team
Wade Binfield, Clayton State
Joel Dahlenburg, Flagler
Kevin Grady, USC Aiken
Patrick Lamb, Flagler
Davis Lee, Lander
Billy Shida, GCSU
Matthew Motes, Armstrong Atlantic State
Stephen Swanepoel, Columbus State

Player of the Year
Francisco Bide, GCSU

Freshman of the Year
Jacob Tilton, Armstrong Atlantic State

Coach of the Year
Santiago Cavanagh, Flagler