Peach Belt Releases Men’s Golf All-Conference Team

Peach Belt Releases Men’s Golf All-Conference Team

POOLER, GA – The Peach Belt Conference released its 16-member men’s golf All-Conference team tonight at a banquet in Pooler ,Ga., site of the 2011 golf championships.  Georgia College’s Billy Shida was named the PBC Player of the Year with Lander’s Max Fischer earning Freshman of the Year honors.  GC’s Jimmy Wilson was named the Coach of the Year.  The 16 golfers were placed on first and second teams.

Shida was second in the PBC with a 72.5 stroke average and had a tournament win and five top-10 finishes in the 2010-11 season.  A senior from Duluth, Ga., he was named the PBC Golfer of the Week three times during the season and receives his second straight All-Conference honor.  He won the Matlock Collegiate Classic in February by shooting all three rounds in the 60s, something no other PBC golfer accomplished this season.   He fired a 66 in the third round of the Argonaut Invitational, tied for the second-lowest round by any PBC player this year, and was tied for third at that event. He was also second at the Spring Hill Suites Intercollegiate in the fall.  Shida becomes the sixth Bobcat in league history to be named the Player of the Year, and the second straight joining Francisco Bide last season.

Max Fischer is the only freshman in the Peach Belt to play in every one of his team’s competitive rounds.  From Berlin, Germany, Fischer led the team with a 74.0 stroke average and was ranked 14th in the PBC.   He had top-fives at both the Sandestin Collegiate and the Bobcat Invitational and five other top-20 results.  He shot a season-low round of 69 at the Bearcat Invitational, tied for the second-lowest round by any Lander player this year.  Fischer  becomes the second Lander golfer to receive Freshman of the Year accolades, joining Jake Amos who won the award in 2007.

Georgia College head coach Jimmy Wilson has his team poised to win their second straight PBC Championship as play begins on Monday at Savannah Quarters Country Club.  In his 14th season at the helm of the Bobcats, Wilson has his Bobcats ranked eighth nationally after collecting tournament wins at the Spring Hill Suites Intercollegiate in the fall and the Southeastern Collegiate in the spring.  Georgia College finished in the top five in eight of their 10 tournaments, including five in a row heading to the PBC, and never finished higher than sixth in any tournament they played.  Wilson’s Bobcats lead the PBC with a 289.2 team stroke average, more than three strokes better than their nearest competition.  The Coach of the Year award is the third for Wilson, who also won the honor in 2000 and 2008.

The All-Conference team is listed below.  The team is selected by the league’s head coaches who are not permitted to vote for their own players.

2010-11 Men’s Golf
All-Conference Team

First Team
Patrick Garrett, Georgia College
Jonathan McCurry, UNC Pembroke
Ridge Purcell, Armstrong Atlantic State
Billy Shida, Georgia College
Stephen Swanepol, Columbus State
Rourke Van der Spuy, Columbus State
Jordan Walor, UNC Pembroke
Joe Young, Georgia College

Second Team
Aaron Elrod, Armstrong Atlantic State
Max Fischer, Lander
Nate Gahman, Georgia Southwestern State
Gavin Harper, Georgia College
Scott Lambert, UNC Pembroke
Hayden Letien, USC Aiken
Matt Motes, Armstrong Atlantic State
Stephen Woodill, Columbus State

Player of the Year
Billy Shida, Georgia College

Freshman of the Year
Max Fischer, Lander

Coach of the Year
Jimmy Wilson, Georgia College