PBC Awards Men’s Tennis All-Conference Team

PBC Player of the Year KP Pannu of Columbus State
PBC Player of the Year KP Pannu of Columbus State

FLORENCE, SC – The Peach Belt Conference presented the 2019 men's tennis All-Conference team at a banquet in Florence, S.C., site of this weekend's PBC Tournament.  Columbus State's Kiranpal Pannu was named the PBC Player of the Year while USC Aiken's Salvador Bandeira the Freshman of the Year. CSU's Evan Isaacs was named the Coach of the Year. 

Pannu becomes the fifth player in PBC history to be named the Player of the Year twice.  The senior from Wellington, New Zealand, also won the honor last season and was the 2016 PBC Freshman of the Year.  Ranked #1 in the nation in every poll this year, he is 19-1 overall in singles play with an 8-0 mark against nationally-ranked opponents and 9-0 against the conference.  Pannu also won the ITA DII National Singles Championship in the fall and qualified to play in the BB&T Atlanta Open last summer.  He is the second Cougar to be named the PBC Player of the Year but the first to win the honor twice.

Bandeira has been a big part of what is arguably USC Aiken's best season of men's tennis.  The native of Caparica, Portugal, was 9-3 at #2 singles and 2-1 at #3 singles with a 7-2 record against PBC opponents.  He and partner Antonio Sabugueiro played #1 doubles with a 13-3 mark and are ranked #5 in the nation in the latest ITA poll.  Bandeira becomes the second Pacer to ever be named the PBC Freshman of the Year, joining Sabugueiro who won in 2017.

Evan Isaacs' Cougars returned to the #1 spot on the ITA national poll just this week as they begin the defense of their 2018 national championship.  In his 18thseason at CSU, Isaacs has crafted a national powerhouse that is currently home to the #1 singles player and #1 doubles team in the nation.  The Cougars won their third straight PBC regular-season championship in 2019 and are the #1 seed for the PBC Tournament, which they have also won for the past two years.  CSU is 20-2 overall on the season and were unbeaten in conference play for a second year in a row.  The Coach of the Year award is his fourth for men's tennis, he has also won four for women's tennis, including this season.

2019 PBC Men's Tennis
All-Conference Team

First Team

Eirik Groner, Lander
Robin Möeller, Georgia College
Kiranpal Pannu, Columbus State
Alvaro Regalado, Columbus State
Lukas Storck, Flagler
Zach Whaanga, Columbus State 

Doubles Teams
Axel Cronje and Adam Elliget, Lander
Zach Whaanga and Alvaro Regalado, Columbus State
Robin Möeller and Matthias Rogel, Georgia College

Second Team

Salvador Bandeira, USC Aiken
Ozan Cildir, Lander
Patrick Oliveira, Augusta
Antonio Sabugueiro, USC Aiken
Tales Silva, USC Aiken
Niklas Zielen, North Georgia 

Doubles Teams
Kiranpal Pannu and Matei Avram, Columbus State
Salvador Bandeira and Antonio Sabugueiro, USC Aiken
Lukas Storck and Felipe Carvalho, Flagler

Elite 15 Award presented by EAB
Eirik Groner, Lander 

Freshman of the Year
Salvador Bandeira, USC Aiken 

Player of the Year
Kiranpal Pannu, Columbus State 

Coach of the Year
Evan Isaacs, Columbus State

Men's Tennis 1st Team All-Conference Singles
Men's Tennis 1st Team All-Conference Doubles
Men's Tennis 2nd Team All-Conference Singles
Men's Tennis 2nd Team All-Conference Doubles
PBC Player of the Year KP Pannu (L) and Freshman of the Year Salvador Bandeira